TAC LogoI just bought my pass for the Ottawa Television Animation Conference in, you guessed it, Ottawa from the 19th to 20th of September.

I personally think that this event is probably one of the best events you can go to if you are interested in pitching shows to the major Canadian and US commissioning animation broadcasters. Last year Teletoon, CBC Kids, YTV, Cartoon Network, Nickelodeon, and others were all in attendance and relatively accessible for meetings.

In addition to being significantly cheaper than Banff, Kids Screen, or markets like MIP, it is intimate setting with a very small group of animation focused broadcasters, producers and creators. There are many great panel discussions that allow you to see what trends are developing in the animation industry at a very high level. If, like myself, you are from somewhere out in woods like Saskatchewan, this information is absolutely invaluable.

I personally am on the lookout for new projects that I can get behind and help develop, so if you are going to be at the event, make sure to drop me a line.